The funeral has ended.

Share this with those who can’t attend.

The week has been a long one for both the Anguillian people and all those who have witnessed and admired this great man, our Father of the Nation, First Chief Minister and Leader of the 1967 Revolution, James Ronald Webster. He was taken around the island one last time in a motorcade on Tuesday and saluted by the many people who lined the roadside. He was lauded by Anguilla’s past and present leaders of government and other bodies as his body laid in the Honourable House of Assembly on Wednesday.

Today, we present to you a live stream of the funeral of James Ronald Webster at the St. Mary’s Anglican Church in The Valley. He will be laid to rest in a mausoleum erected on Pope Hill overlooking the James Ronald Webster Park and the capital, The Valley.

The Mausoleum

Mausoleum James Ronald Webster

A beautiful mausoleum has been constructed on a rocky outcrop overlooking Pope Hill which will house the remains of Revolutionary Leader, First Chief Minister and Father of the Nation Mr. James Ronald Webster on Friday.

Work on the project began on December 22nd, 2016 under the direction of local architect and principal of Morlen’s Architectual Services Vanburn Andy Brookes.

The following represent the project participants:

Architect and Project Management
Vanburn Andy Brookes

Greig Hughes of Greig’s Trucking

Local Stone
Cleophus Gumbs of Anguilla Native Stone

Emerson Reid

Decorative Columns
Miguel Casilla

Juan/Klassique Carpentry

Desmond Paul of Unique Landscapes

List of Overseas Dignitaries in Attendance

H.E. Colin Murdoch

L.T. Governor Osbert Potter
Charles Robles, Commissioner of Agriculture
Milton Potter, Director, Division of Personnel

Premier Hon. D. Orlando Smith and Mrs. Lorna Smith OBE
Hon. Mark Vanterpool
Mrs. Deborah O Neal – Sister in law to the Premier

St. Lucia
Dr. Didacus Jules – Director General OECS

St. Kitts
Dr. The Right Excellency and Right Hon. Sir Kennedy Alphonse Simmonds, KCMG, MD, NH
H.E.  Jonel F.H. Powell – Ambassador and Special Envoy to the Ministries of Sport and Culture
H.E. Michael Morton – Deputy to the Governor General

Sint Maartin
Governor Eugene B. Holiday
Prime Minister William Marlin and Mrs. Marlin
Head of Protocol Mrs. Rose Vlaun
Marcel Gumbs (Former Prime Minister of Sint Maarten)
Christopher Johnson (Representative Dutch   Government on Sint Maarten)
Will Johnson (Former Member of  Parliament Netherlands Antilles)
Chanel Brownbill (Member of Parliament of Sint Maarten)
Arthuro Bute*
Hubert Pantophlet*
Eugene James*
*former board members of the Sint Maarten Chamber of Commerce.

Saint Martin
Hon. Rollande Questel – Council Lady
Mr. Georges Gumbs, President of the Economic, Social and Cultural Council of St. Martin

Don't forget to share this post!

Leave us a comment!

Previous post

2017 Anguilla Summer Festival Recap

Next post

Jahmar Hamilton, Captain WICB President’s XI vs England